Some people believe government should spend money on building train and subway lines to reduce traffic congestion. Others think that building more and wider roads is the better way to reduce traffic congestion.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There is a controversy of whether broadening streets or constructing train and subway lines would be a better idea to improve the issue of traffic congestion. While I agree that building more roads would work effectively in some nations, I still hold the view of constructing a newly-built transportation system under the ground.

Firstly, as developing nations still possess constraint budget, expanding streets would help these nations tackle this issue in the short term and at a quicker pace. By contrast, building a subway line would require a huge amount of money and a long period of time to complete these projects. For example, Vietnam has been constructing a train line for around 10 years, which still cannot come into the operation. This creates many disturbances and inconveniences for city dwellers and causes a waste of money for the nation. Secondly, widening roads is easier to apply in different countries stemming from far and wide and every background. This means, developing and poor nations do not need advanced and sophisticated techniques or construction materials to complete these projects.

However, I am inclined towards the idea of constructing train or subway lines. The initial reason is that these systems would not be intervened by tortuous roads on the ground, daily activities and transportation of citizens. This allows the construction process becoming easier and the later transportation system being smoother and quicker. As a result, employees and students do not need to wrestle with traffic jam on a daily basis, which helps to reduce commuting time and utilize it in other important purposes such as doing exercise or reading books in every early morning. For example, if there is the underground transportation system in my nation, I just need approximately 10 minutes to reach my university instead of spending more than one hour driving motorbike every day.

In conclusion, although each solution would have its own bright sides, I believe that train and subway lines would be more compatible with every nation in hectic life nowadays.