Nowadays it is not only large companies that can make films. Digital technology enables anyone to produce films. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

It is undeniable that thanks to state-of-the-art technology, many people in the day and age have an opportunity to ease the process of producing films, which is supposed that only big film brands could fulfill. I believe that this development results in both merits and drawbacks.

Due to the improvement and innovation of digital gadgets nowadays, people especially the young could easily nurture their dream of producing films when they are still students. In other words, a smartphone, an actor, a proper background, and a cameraman are all the things that these people need to create a film, and then show them on the network sites. Based on these benefits, this would help to reinforce the film industry in a certain nation because the creativity of youngsters is potential and diverse. For instance, a young male group named 1996 in Vietnam has achieved one of the most prestigious awards in the film industry with some basic tools, and intriguing content.

However, the negative impacts of this change are inevitable when many sensitive and toxic films have been produced and showed on many different social network sites. More importantly, these hazardous contents affect adversely viewers’ perception and awareness, especially children who are unable to control their habits or assess bad aspects of these films. Take an action film as an example. This kind of movie produces unlimited violent and horrible scenes, which are broadcasted on Youtube without the supervision of parents. Consequently, this could make children suffer from bad behaviors.

In conclusion, although it is beneficial for youngsters and the film industry when the technology creates a chance to broaden the diversity of films, the disadvantages also impact hugely our society’s awareness.