Nowadays it is not only large companies that can make films. Digital technology enables anyone to produce films. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

(4/10/2023)

Given the ceaseless advancements of technology, film making has been greatly facilitated. I believe this is a welcome development as it benefits both the audience and the amateur creators.

Admittedly, the drawbacks of allowing everyone to produce films is indeed evident. Chief of these is that some may capitalise on these for malicious intentions. For instance, some Chinese filmmakers have released films containing the deleterious information to indoctrinate false beliefs to Vietnamese about their true border. Added to this is the fact that many films published on websites are not edited thoroughly. This results in many films being low quality products, which upset the equilibrium of the film industry as a whole.

Despite the negatives aforementioned, I believe that there being more opportunities to create films is a welcome development for various causes. The key reason is that, regardless of the countless number of films produced annually, people always invariably crave for works with fresh and innovative contents. Since more people are accessible to producing films, chances are that there will be more films with brilliant subjects, which considerably satisfy the insatiable desire of the masses. In addition, the facilitation of creating films also offers a chance for non-professional creators to fulfil their ambitions. This seems implausible previously as only ones with stable finance and profession can afford the exorbitant cost of creating a film.

In conclusion, I believe that the promotion of filmmaking is a positive development because it offers a diversity of films and an opportunity for individuals to do their dream jobs without restrictions. This is provided that the policy makers ensure all films are meticulously censored before publication so that all of them are up to the conditions.