The availability of unhealthy food, such as fast food and junk food, has become more widespread in recent years. What are some of the problems associated with this development and what action can be taken to solve them?

A common issue usually associated with the rapid-changing modern world of ours is the consumption of unhealthy food, which has become more and more accessible due to its low cost and convenience. What people often seem to overlook is the fact that these foods pose significant threats to our society individually and collectively. Therefore, I will discuss the problems as well as suggest methods to reduce or effectively resolve them in the following essay.

To begin with, unhealthy food has the reputation of deteriorating one’s body. With today’s technological advances, food can be mass-produced and manufactured. This, however, does not guarantee the quality of such nourishment. Rather, the decline of nutritional values and the increase in fat, sugar, and artificial additives are common themes often seen in snack food. Those who indulge themselves in such detrimental substances can run the risk of permanently damaging their health and developing diseases like obesity and high blood pressure. Another issue is that fast food companies are taking over the market while simultaneously forcing the locals to go out of business. These so-called restaurants are corporate-owned, so their brand names are enough to persuade customers. Moreover, they seem to be set up in every country, every state, and every district, leaving no space for local business to flourish. Hence, the problems that unhealthy food in general poses to our society are undeniable.

With that in mind, I present a few logical methods to combat the negative impact of the aforementioned issue. Firstly, there should be campaigns brought about by the government to influence how people perceive their eating habits. These ought to focus on the benefits of consuming healthy and clean products. Secondly, the people are also responsible for the rise of fast food companies. Hence, a shift in the mind of the general public regarding supporting local businesses should be brought about. Furthermore, only when the cost of clean-eating is reduced to a reasonable price can people enjoy such luxury instead of junk food. These are just some ways to minimize the effects and drawbacks that processed food brings about.

In conclusion, with the disastrous consequences of unhealthy food, it remains an arduous task for our generations and those before and after us to resolve. However, I believe that it is in our best interest to come together to tackle this issue, for the sake of eating cleaner and safer.