Behavior in schools is getting worse. Explain the causes of this problem and suggest some possible solutions.

Children wouldn’t be children if they didn’t misbehave now and again but recently we have seen a spike in such behavior. Especially in schools where their conduct has become very worrisome. In this essay I will explore some of the reasons for this trend and also provide some possible solutions.

In todays age, the rise in mischief can be attributed to two main factors, unrestricted entertainment and the cessation of corporal punishment. In the past, children were exposed to only a few cartoons which would have some type of a moral story to tell. Whereas today, the kids are exposed to unlimited shows and videogames without any checks and balance. This have had a very negative impact on their personality. A recent survey in Sweden showed that kids who were exposed to violent computer games caused more trouble in schools than others. Secondly, the removal of corporal punishment haven’t helped this situation at all. Until very recently, parents who had misbehaving children would send them to boarding schools, so that they could learn some discipline and responsibility. With the ending of physical punishment, these schools are now no different than any others.

Even though it’s a very complicated and sensitive topic, there are some relatively simple steps that could be taken in order to curb this problem. The first thing that could be done is to restrict the children’s access to the internet and TV. They should be discouraged from staying up too late and also allowed to watch only those programs that have a decent moral story. Secondly, I believe that corporal punishment should be allowed back in certain situations. If used correctly, it can have some benefits. Majority of the people who had received corporal punishments in boarding schools believed that it was crucial for their character development, according to poll done last year. Therefore, it’s necessary to be strict for the betterment of the kids.

In conclusion, although there could be many reasons for juvenile misdemeanor, TV and lack of punishments are important ones. In my opinion they can be dealt with by restricted TV and appropriately punishing the children when needed.