In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough.

What are the advantages and disadvantages?

There are no shortcuts for success. All those people who achieve their goals and prosper in their dreams are hard workers. That’s why some cultures put a lot of emphasis on hard work from an early age. Even though I believe that there are many advantages of this trend, this essay will discuss both points.

Those who are opposed to it say that this might discourage children from smart-work and cause embarrassment to those who are unable to achieve their targets. Firstly, too much focus on trying harder rather than being smart may lead to loss of innovative thinking among children. They may become good obedient people, but their abilty to think outside the box might be lost. A recent study from Harvard showed that students who went to school for 8 hours did poorly in academics than those who went for only 5 hours a day. Secondly, if a student fails for any reason in reaching his or her goals, they may blame it on themselves for not trying hard enough. This can have a huge impact on their mental health which might ultimtely lead to unneccessary burden. A research looking into depression among teenager concluded that the major reason was feeeling of not being good enough.

While the downisdes cant be disputed, the advantages are way more fruitful. First being the fact that it instils good work ethic among children. This is a useful skill in student and practical life alike, as consistensy and perseverance always yield food results. Napolean is famous for saying that he prefers his generals hard working, not smart. Secondly, hard work ensures a success no matter what. Your wits can take you only a certain distance towards your ambitions, the rest of the journey has to be travelled by honest and hard work. Mr. Hathaway, the famous invester, once said he achieved everything through his good work ethic.

In conclusion, although there might be some risks of encoraging hard work, they can be overcome by being careful. The advantages of excellent working habits and guaranteed future success easily outweigh any downsides.