Being a celebrity, such as a famous film star or sports personality, brings problems as well as benefits. Do the advantages of being a celebrity outweigh the disadvantages?

These days, there is an increasing number of superstars in all fields such as entertainment or sport. While some people argue that this brings about several disadvantages, I believe the benefits are more significant.

On the one hand, there are some drawbacks of being a celebrity. The first problem would be lack of privacy. Due to the excessive public and media attention, stars are often followed by some paparazzi. As a result, their personal information such as marriage lives or house addresses appears in gossip magazines, which might lead to annoyance. Another minus point is that because of the audience's high expectations for famous people, these personalities are likely to suffer from stress and other mental issues. In other words, these individuals usually work really hard to perform well in order to avoid being roundly criticised by the public.

On the other hand, it is reasonable why being well-known in certain fields can be beneficial. Firstly, fame can provide people with considerable wealth. For instance, renowned individuals are paid a large amount of money for attending social events or participating in advertisements. If these people are not famous, their income will be much lower. Secondly, achieving a certain level of career success, superstars usually gain admiration from average people. Consequently, they can act as positive role models for other people, which is a unique experience.

In conclusion, although fame can lead to the lack of privacy and some mental problems, I think the plus points, which are richness and people’s admiration, are greater.