The benefits of computers in modern society far outweigh the disadvantages. What do you think?

Nowadays, computer technologies are excessively used by individuals. There are drawbacks certain to arise due to this phenomenon. However, I think that disadvantages of this development are outweighed by its advantages. This essay will outline both sides of this argument.

On the one hand, there are some disadvantages of computers. First of all, with the advent of computers, the era of social networking began. Since then, people have created various entertainment applications in which people distribute information about themselves. As a result, hackers break into the personal websites of wealthy people in order to have an access to their privet photos and withdraw them. For example, it was reported that Rihanna's private photos were released during the iCloud hack in 2014. Moreover, many people have lost their job due to gadgets and desktop computers. In other words, computers are substituting for people in factories, as a consequence, the unemployment rate is growing. To exemplify, it is well-known fact that the unemployment rate is increasing since 2000 owing to technological advances and various other reasons.

On the flip side, computers made our life easier. Firstly, everyone can communicate effortlessly whenever they want. By way of explanation, there are plenty of applications that are invented by specialists to facilitate our communication, so we can be connected with our relatives, even if they are in other countries. Namely, Zoom, it is used worldwide to conduct conferences and meetings. Besides, pcs have made it easy for people to earn money. Due to easy access to the data or stock market, individuals can analyze trends and invest on businesses without leaving their home. For instance, millionaire Warren Buffett considered one of the most successful investors in the world and has a net worth of over US $85.6 billion as of December 2020.

In conclusion, despite some shortcomings, computers have greatly changed our lives, by giving us the opportunity to be in contact with all people around the world and the opportunity to work from the comfort of home.