The best way for the government to solve traffic congestion is to provide free public transport 24 hours a day and 7 days a week. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is suggested that offering continuous public transport for all days and nights is the key to solving traffic jams in most countries. In my opinion, this is not a wise solution.

It seem that provide free public transportation 7 days 24 hours can attract some citizens to take public transport, thus reducing the use of private cars and eventually solving traffic congestion issues. However, this approach wouldn’t be as effective as expected. The fact that people still choose to drive to commute despite of the low cost of buses in most countries proves that money is not the main reason that discourages people from using public transportation. So if government made public transport free, the situation would not be greatly changed.

What’s worse, making public transport free all the time would create wastefulness. There are fewer needs for transport at night time. So keeping the buses running with no or just one passenger would be a waste of government budget, especially when this money is raised from residents’ taxes. As a result, instead of tackling the problem to win the voters’ compliments, such policy may promote resident’s dissatisfaction towards their governments for not appropriately using their money.

Instead, there are other ways that are more sustainable. One suggestion would be to impose traffic congestion taxes on cars coming to the cities. This approach requires less government investment and is easier to act on. Another way would be to create a well-designed public transportation that is more efficient and reliable. The main reason that people prefer cars to buses or trains is the flexibility cars bring. They do not want to rush to the bus station and found that bus left earlier, leaving them waiting for another 20 or 30 minutes. If government add more buses in rush hours, residents would be more confident in commuting through public transportation, without worrying about being late for their study or work.

To conclude, comparing with providing public transport 24 hours a day and 7 days a week, imposing traffic congestion taxes and adding more public transport in peak travel periods are more feasible and sustainable.