The best way for governments to solve the problem of traffic congestion is providing free public transport in 24 hours per day, 7 days a week. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that the best solution to the traffic congestion problem is providing cost-free mass transit all the time. From my point of view, I strongly disagree with this opinion.

First of all, operating a free public transport system every hour and every day seems to be unnecessary. In fact, overcrowded roads merely happened during specific periods of time depending on the time of working. At night or daylight, the number of commuters moving on the roads is lessened, and as a result, lots of public vehicles are not being used. For instance, in some metropolises in Vietnam, roads are often clogged in the morning and evening, at the time when people go to work or get off work. However, not many Vietnamese people go outside at night, which means public busses may carry no passengers after10 p.m.

Secondly, supporting public transport without any charge would put a financial burden on the nation’s economic development. Residents might be required to pay more taxes on transportation services, which they even hardly use due to their inconvenience and being time-consuming. Instead of that, citizens would prefer to use private vehicles because of the crowd and less comfort they may face in buses and trains. Hence, after making massive investments, traffic jams will increase since people still use their vehicles. Also, there are other equally essential fields that I therefore believe need investing such as health care, education and infrastructure construction.

In conclusion, from my perspective, supplying free transport services would be inevitably unnecessary and a satisfactory solution to the economy of the country to tackle this issue.