Every year, several languages die out. Some people think that this is not important because life will be easier if there are fewer languages in the world.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is often argued that the annual extinction of some languages may not be a serious problem because fewer languages will lead to a more convenient life. I completely disagree with this opinion and think that many languages play a vital role in society and it would cause some drawbacks if humans do not conserve them.

First of all, every language occupies an important position that any other can be irreplaceable. In other words, a language is not only a means of communication but is also a key to the culture of a group of people. It holds most of the spiritual values that humans have created and cherished throughout thousands of years. If some languages die out, it could lead to the loss of traditions, including music and works of literature. For example, the particular languages of some ethnic minorities in Vietnam have been not widely used by youngsters, and they are on the verge of becoming extinct, with the disappearance of cultural values. The scenario is eventually estimated that they would not be listed on the national map as a consequence.

Secondly, speaking few languages is unrealistic and therefore may alienate millions of people around the world. Several languages dying out means people have to learn common languages such as Chinese or English. However, this would not be easy because it may take generations for people to learn it. For instance, countries like Vietnam and Korea have been trying to adopt English as a second language for a long time, but most of their citizens still cannot fully grasp it. That’s why people may undergo hard trials if their languages disappear.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that each language has its value, and this should not at the expense of less prevalent languages in order to avoid alienation of countries.