The best way for governments to solve the problem of traffic congestion is providing free public transport in 24 hours per day, and seven days a week. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that public transport plays a vital factor on gridlocks reduction. However, I disagree with the idea of supply it free everyday being the best solution.

On the one hand, free public transport has huge benefits on citizens. First, it assists to eliminate traffic jam, ease the large volume of private cars traveling, meaning that car emissions and exhaust fumes are limited. Rather than worrying about wasted hours on streets or how to park cars in crowded cities, commuters have more relaxed times due to the convenience of well-designed transport systems. Second, it is of great value when public transports are subsidized by the government. No travel costs have to be paid, giving deprived people more opportunities commuting within their country to seek employment and ameliorate the living conditions.

On the other hand, the drawbacks of free public means of transport should not be neglected. One disadvantage is that buses and trains are free of charge, leading to excessive utilization. There always are full of people, and because of this, the incidence of crimes will become increasingly. Also, dispose of waste is such a vexing issue that stimulates commuters to reuse their comfortable cars. As a result, this measure, by contrast, would worsen the situation. Another remarkable demerit is the financial burden on the government’s shoulder. In the developing countries, the government need to invest on a variety of essential fields including education and healthcare system, therefore, proving free public transport with finite resources might be challenging, not mention to resolving its by-products.

In conclusion, while free public transport everyday is acknowledged of certain advantages, I strongly opine that it is not the best solution to tackle traffic congestion.