It is undeniable that, there has been surging number of cars purchased in urban areas all around the world in past two to three decades, which leads to a massive traffic jam in most of the metro cities. However, a group inhabitant perceives that government body should provide free public transit to each individual for around the clock as well as every day, in order to tackle the traffic issues. I agree with this statement to a large extent. My arguments are justified in the ensuing paragraphs.

There are innumerous reasons to support free public transit. The foremost one is that most of the traffic congestion occurred due to an immense number of cars. For instance, according to survey conduct by The Times of India, cities such as New York, London and Delhi suffered from massive jam because of innumerous cars. Another reason is, if the government provides free public comminuting to each individual, they would prefer to travel in buses and trains rather than their own cars. To illustrate this, in Ahmadabad BRTS bus service is popular even though it's not free.

Moreover, by using public transport people can save petrol as well as the maintenance cost of a car. As a result, it encourages them to save money by using public transport. To represent this, Melbourne-a best living city around the world, providing all-time free tram facility for everyone that would help the city to manage traffic hurdle. Furthermore, a better public transport for the public can diminish traffic congestion as the dweller of the urban areas would significantly use public transit.

On the contrary, I would not overlook the downside too. Providing free commuting has many detrimental influences on each individual and country. To begin with, the administration will have to bear a huge burden of costs. In other words, the government would be enhanced taxes on a routine product as a result inflation rate will escalate. Furthermore, public transit has limited stoppage; it would difficult to explore the city by using public transit.

To sum up, it can be said that, in order to control traffic jam the best solution is to improve public transport system. However, the government should not provide free of cost travelling as the free transit has a menacing impact on the economy of the nation.