The best way for governments to solve the problem of traffic congestion is providing free public transport in 24 hours per day, and seven days a week. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people think that public transport service should be established non-stop and free of charge in order to address the problem of traffic jams. While providing public transport is important, I completely disagree with the idea that governments should open this service 24 hours a day everyday to deal with traffic congestion.

To begin with, offering the public transport for free and running the service without rest do not really impact the traffic jams. Even when people are free to use these transports to travel, they still prefer their personal vehicles because they feel uncomfortable sitting next to strangers. Since people still like to drive their own cars, the problem of traffic congestion will not be solved. The idea of keeping the service unstopped is also not solving this problem because almost traffic jams occur during the day not at night. In addition, the only advantage to offer the service 24 hours per day is to reduce travelling accidents at night but it is not related to this discussing topic.

On the other hand, there are several solutions that governments around the world can take to deal with traffic jams. Firstly, they need to spread the density of vehicles by building more roads, opening more highways and constructing multi-level road system. By doing this, the flow of travelling of both public and private transport will not be blocked and thus, reduce traffic jams. Secondly, governments can enact laws to restrict individuals from owning too many vehicles. Reports show that Vietnam traffic jams have been reduced significantly after the congress establish the law to forbid the possession of more than 2 cars in each family.

In conclusion, while public transport is a good way to deal with traffic jams, I believe that opening the service for free and non-stop has nothing to deal with the problem of traffic congestion. Instead, governments can take a few other solution to tackle this problem.