Some people believe that university education should be free for all. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

it is argued by some that tertiary education should be provided for everyone free of charge. I totally disagree with this statement because universities need money to maintain the quality of their facilities and people would no longer take this level of education seriously when they could study for free.

All university institutions require money from tuition fees in order to keep providing their students with studying necessities. this is because maintaining a good condition of studying materials in library costs a lot of money and all lecturers want a stable and acceptable income to keep teaching with enthusiasm. if students were offered tertiary education for free, institutions would soon not be able to provide them with the best studying experience. For example, the community college of Ben Tre province in Vietnam reported that their students had to learn in extremely dirty auditories and practice with unfunctional equipment in the laboratories.

Another reason not to give higher education for free is that people would not be serious with their study anymore. this is to say, people have a tendency to try everything if it costs nothing. Hence, if universities were offered free of charge, more students would enroll in courses, but, they would not likely come to finish their courses entirely. For instance, a survey in Ho Chi Minh City showed that a large number of adults would agree to go to college if it did not cost them money and most of them said that they would absolutely quit after one or two years.

In conclusion, universities should not offer their education for free because they need money to maintain their facilities and more people will come only for the purpose of experience, not for true studying.