The best way for governments to solve the problem of traffic congestion is providing free public transport in 24 hours per day, and seven days a week. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The benefits of public transport is well-known, such as dealing with the problem of traffic jam, providing free public transport in 24 hours each day, however, is a matter of some dispute. In my opinion, I really disagree.

The first of all, making free public transport working all day can harm more the environment. Firstly, it can produce more waste substances such as carbon dioxide. In fact, public transport work to help a lot of people moving in the same time, so it usually be a large transport system and use big amount of energy, followed by produce a lot of carbon dioxide. Moreover, to provide sifficently energy to this system work, people can use more energy from fossil fuel, which affect the Earth’s layers. Then disasters, such volcanoes and earthquakes, and landslides can occur as a result.

Secondly, providing free public transport in 24 hours per day does not give more advantages. Firstly, there are not many people moving in some hours of day, such as at night in when there are not traffic congestions which need to solve. Secondly, it may harm the health of drivers who work at night to serve passengers. Even passengers who use public transport can get threats from traffic accidents because drivers usually be tired at night, that’s why they can not control their vehicles well and have more accidents.

In conclusion, I completely disagree providing free public transport in 24 hours per day with two reasons, which are harming more the environment and no more benefits.