Nowadays, traffic jam is a major problem in some developed countries. Some governments provide the best option to reduce the traffic congestion is establishing more free public transport for whole day. I disagree with this view.

Perhaps the main reason cause the traffic congestion is not only a large number of private transports but also road system. It can be said that although the government provide more free public transport, citizens still use their private cars or motorbikes for emergency cases and convenience. Thus, this method just slightly decrease the volume of traffic but it cannot solve completely the traffic problems. In the fact that traffic jam cause by the narrow roads which are not sufficient spaces for the huge amount of vehicle and some roads are obsolete infrastructure that make cars or commuters move slowly such as broken road surface. As a result, I believe that the government should open roads more wider and improve the road system.

In addition, providing free public transport are costly the national budget due to using its resources in 24 hour per day. Actually, the traffic congestion is only happen in the rush hours, so it is pointless if free public transport services are used all the time. For long term, this solution will take a tremendous cost from the government budget, but transportation department may not address the root of major issue. As a consequence, investing those money in road facilities will be a best way not only enhancing the national infrastructure but also the country views.

In conclusion, providing the free public transportations is not a best way to reduce the traffic congestion, the government should focus to improve and extend the quality of roads.