The best way for governments to solve the problem of traffic congestion is providing free public transport in 24 hours per day, and seven days a week. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Recent decades have witnessed a substantial increase in the volume of traffic congestion, especially in metropolitan areas, forcing governments to undertake many initiatives to reduce this problem. Although the proposal of free public transport all day appears reasonable, I believe that there are more practical measures to tackle this social issue.

There are a multitude of drawbacks related to traffic jam when it comes to public transportation. First, In some developing nations, public transportation is invarably asssociated with irregularity and exorbitant services. This will incentivise citizens to use their own private vehicles to save money, which obviously increases gridlock. Second, Some individuals could be susceptible to physical or sexual violence or mugging when using public vehicles. In fact many teenagers in India have become the victims of sexual attack or abduction by bus drivers while they are going on the bus on their own.

However, there are many potential solutions to minimize public congestion rather than providing free public transportation all day. First, capital investments on the installation of super highways and bridges should be conducted by government. In fact, This will lead to the dispersal in the number of both public and private vehicles, reducing remarkably the traffic jam rate. Second, offical authorities should encourage the usage of bicycles in citizens. This not only prevents traffic congestion but also the emission of exhausted fumes as well.

In conclusion, I believe that public transport is unrealistic in terms of reducing gridlock. Some initiatives such as road construction and usage of bikes are proved to eliminate this problem effectively.