The best way to reduce traffic congestion in cities is to provide free public transport. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The increasing traffic congestion in this century has been an enormous problem for most countries around the world, especially in major cities, just as a controversial issue to ease this is to offer public transport for free. Personally, I oppose this issue for several reasons which I will outline in this essay.

The primary reason for this is that some people tend to rank their safety and comfort when commuting and travelling anywhere. Thus, free public transport may not encourage them to lower the use of private vehicles. It presumably seems that many people are anxious about crimes, such as robbing and sexual harassment, increasing at this present time. By this I mean, though, it is free, the government could not fully guarantee passenger's safety on public transport, thereby travelling by private vehicles might be the well-chosen transport.

First and foremost, efficient time travel and intended destination are other primary reasons for most people not to select public transport. As public transport sets timetable and has its limitation of operating schedule, people will probably assume that it is inefficient, especially for people's business. In addition, it might emerge that public transport could put passengers (all ages) in danger because of rush-hour time demanding people to walk through the jostling crowd.

I accept that some people think differently, saying that free public transport might economize the societies' budget, in a view of reduction in spending money on gasoline for their private vehicles. In spite of this, perhaps government uses public revenues to support that transport by means of increasing road and vehicle taxes. Thus, society will keep spending more money on this.

To conclude, I believe that providing free public transport will not alleviate traffic congestion because people will keep using their own vehicles considering negative effects that may spring from public transport such as uncertain people's safety, possible harmful circumstance and inefficient time travel.