The best way to reduce youth crimes is to educate their parents with parental skills. To what extent you agree or disagree?

Recent decades have witnessed the upwards spectrum in the juvenile delinquency rate, raising many questions of the significance of parental skills. Although parental skills’ positive implications on youth crimes could be pronounced, I believe there are more effective alternative solutions.

On the other hand, it should be acknowledged that parental skills could minimize youth crimes. Specifically, parents with good parental skills would teach their children many moral codes or precepts conforming to the social norms. Therefore, young individuals would distinguish what is right or wrong in the society, acting as a deterrent for breeding future offenders.

On the other hand, I believe that official authorities could undertake more practical initiatives to combat this issue. First, the legislation of the prohibition of programmes with sexual or aggressive contents on both the mainstream and alternative media should be enacted. This is proved that these materials could culminate in some mental impairments in viewers, especially those at the young age, which is connected to their propensity for crime commissions in the future. In addition, governments should incentivise some outsourcing investment activities. This suggests a causal relationship with the construction of many highly-industrial parks with manufacturing factories, offering many employment opportunities with stable salary for young people, minimizing their possibilities to commit crimes to make ends meet.

In conclusion, I partially agree that parental skills mean a decline in the delinquency rate. However, there are many measures of higher efficiency that governments should conduct such as the censorship of X-rated and violent images on media or employment opportunities to eradicate this problem.