The best way to solve the world’s environmental problems is increasing the cost of fuel. Do you agree or disagree?

People differ greatly in their views about the measurement to address environment-related problems. While acquiescing in the idea that raising the price of fuel may combat some environmental issues, I would contend that this policy is far from the best remedy to mitigate the deterioration of the environment in general.

On the one hand, there are two compelling reasons as to why I concede that increasing fuel cost is one way to tackle some environmental degradation problems. First and foremost, making the price of fuel more expensive may curtail the air pollution. This is because this activity can discourage people from the use of private vehicles which can lead to diminishing traffic fumes polluting the air. Furthermore, selling fuel at a higher price may solve the problems of global warming. To explain, both individuals and businesses tend to minimize fuel consumption when fuel cost rises, therefore curb the considerable amount of greenhouse gases, which can be conducive to a decrease in the overall temperature of the atmosphere.

I would, on the other hand, firmly convince that the aforementioned measure must not be considered a holistic approach to address environmental problems. The primary reason is that raising fuel price has little effect on other d environment-related problems. To be specific, higher fuel cost cannot stop overfishing, overhunting, and deforestation from happening. In addition, environmental degradation problems can be alleviated by taking better actions. A clear explanation is that if mass producing domestics and industrial equipment use environmentally friendly technology, including solar cells or electronic motor engines, carbon emissions may be reduced.

To sum up, although acknowledging the global warming can be solved by increasing the price of fuel, I would argue that this is not the best way to tackle the environmental degradation issues because it is not a comprehensive resolution and there have been other more effective solutions to ameliorate the deterioration of the environment.