Both governments and individuals are spending vast amounts of money protecting animals and their habitat. This money could be better spent dealing with fundamental issue in society such as poverty and health care. To what extent do you agree?

The issue of whether animals and their habitats or social issues such as health care and poverty should receive financial support from the government and citizens is certainly a contentious one. While many people think that it is better to pour money on solving critical issues, I personally believe that both of the problems should be spent on.

There are reasons why we should take measures to save wildlife by financial aid. Firstly, every species play a vital role in balancing the natural ecosystem and significantly contribute to the food chain. This means, by taking steps to preserve animals, especially endangered ones, we can not just maintain biodiversity but also prevent food chain disorder and animals from extinction. Secondly, it is widely believe that human can benefit lots of things from the nature. For instance, crocodiles are being used in many countries for the purpose of predicting weather pattern, therefore, people can manage to deal with natural disasters before it threatens their lives.

On the other hand, social issues such as education and health care system should also receive fair amounts of funding from nations and individuals for some reasons. First, hardly can the world be developed without the contribution of education. In fact, without providing enough education, many countries are now confronting with the rise in crime rate and that their population, especially those who do not acquire essential knowledge about the environment, are putting animals at great risk of extinction. For instance, Indian hunts for rhino’s horns as they belive that it can be used to cure illness. Secondly, in order to increase living condition, it is beneficial for people to invest money in health care system. Thus, in case of epidemic outbreak, we can protect ourself from being attacked by any viruses.

To conclude, both animal and human life are equally important so they should receive acceptable amount of money from government and inhabitants.