Both governments and individuals are spending vast amounts of money protecting animals and their habitat. This money could be better spent dealing with fundamental issues in society such as poverty and health care. To what extent do you agree?

It is sometimes argued that a huge amount of money is wasted on protecting animals and their living areas by people, which could be used more effectively on tackling serious problems. I completely disagree with this notion and I therefore believe that they should continue to be conserved.

To begin with, preserving species is beneficial to a certain extent. On the individuals’ level, protecting animals and their habitat gives them opportunities to stay in nature. As a result, more and more people have a tendency to participate in animal rescue organizations, which not only helps these species but also plays a vital role in improving our live’s quality. On the society’s level, a country’s economy could not develop without the contribution of creatures. Australia, for instance, which is famous for Kangaroo and other species, attracts millions of visitors every year due to the diversity of their creatures and environment.

In addition, other problematic issues could not be solved just by transferring the amount of money from animals’ protection.The main reason is that the budget for maintaining the diversity of the environment only accounts for a minority of total spending. Meanwhile, the amount of money for tackling poverty and health care is much higher, which can not be fulfilled by adding species conservation budget.Furthermore , totally forgetting about securing creatures may take a heavy toll on numerous aspects. Many dangerous diseases will appear if their natural predators become extinct, putting a strain on the government's responsibility regarding poor and citizens’ health.

In conclusion, while some maintain that the money for securing animals and their habitat should be replaced due to its unnecessary, I believe that it is better to conserve them.