In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government have to pay for this care.

Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

In Britain, elderly people tend to live in nursing homes where they can receive special medical health care. It is argued that the government is responsible for paying the service fee for them. From my point of view, this charge should belong to both the government and the family and this essay will give some reasons to confirm it.

First of all, let’s look at why the chairmans of a country need to be in charge of paying the cost for persons of retirement age. It is obvious to observe that when the elderly were young, they made an effort in their careers to build facilities as well as infrastructures and improve the life quality for citizens, which includes people in the state bureaucracy. To be clearer, workers expand traffic roads, build skyscrapers, or farmers grow crops to deliver to many other areas, even export to international countries. Furthermore, the number of taxes paid regularly is the income of the state employees, such as policemen, doctors, and engineers. This is not only because the government gives thanks to these overage labourers by supporting the special medical services, but also partly builds a more humane community. For example, in Vietnam, a huge of nursing homes has been established with full of facilities and caring groups, where the elderly often get a visit from volunteers.

On the other hand, family persons need to pay the costs of taking care of their beloved ones. Due to the law of direct blood relation, the offspring, who is called the next generation have complete responsibility for looking after their previous one. Otherwise, they need to offer their relatives a particular health care programme and afford the added expense. After all, it is necessary for the old to have a worthy refuge, and that is the love of family.

To sum up, both the government and the family have a duty to take care of the retirement people.