Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now 'onebig traffic' jam. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

Nowadays the number of cars has reached its peak, and this trend has created several problems including traffic congestion in the streets. To my mind, the main reason for this can be due to the developments in the car industry. An effective solution for this problem can be increasing the cost of ownership, as well as accountability of owners in front of society.

Over the last century car manufacturing factories have increased their productivity level considerably. As a result, because of the competitive environment in automobile industry the average cost of cars has become reasonable for the public. However, a century ago only a limited number of people could afford to purchase cars which considered to be a luxury buy. Oppositely, today cars are one of the primary goods that ordinary people can posses. Therefore, it is natural that people have an intention to own cars.

Obviously, this needs to be controlled by governments to provide society with safety and comfort. To address this problem government should increase the cost of owning cars by introducing higher taxes for vehicle property and fuel consumption. By this way, people might decrease the excessive use of cars in order to save their money.

Admittedly, the detrimental effects of overusing cars should be taken into consideration. Therefore, governments should limit the number of cars that can be owned by a particular family or person, because nowadays it is very common to have more than one car in one single family. As a result, the public might feel accountable and they will perhaps use their cars for important purposes only.

To sum up, this problem threaten the humanity if the abovementioned solutions would not be implemented.