The causes and effects of academic stress

Many students, these days, are becoming under studying pressure due to the heavy curriculum. This undesirable problem can be related to the imbalance between learning and relaxing. This essay will explore several possible reasons and impacts for this serious phenomenon.

To begin with, there are some main causes associated with this phenomenon. The major reason for this practice is the studying environment. In fact, many contributing factors such as teaching methods, the amount of assignment has a serious influence to learners. It means that students have to deal with an awful lot of tasks, which leads them to be overloaded. In other words, the students spend most of their time studying and completing assignments. As a result, they do not have time for recreation and relaxing activities. Another contributing reason is peer pressure. Lower-performance learners tend to take the higher ones as a model to follow, but their limited ability preventing them from achieving the good result. Therefore, they are likely to be isolated and suffer from autism.

This problem has many critical effects on students. The biggest impact is the destruction to health. If they do not have time to relax after a hard-studying time, their nervous systems and personality will be significantly affected. The stressed students are found to decrease sleep quality and be angry because of the frustration of learning. Another adverse effect is on the studying performance. Due to the academic stress, students cannot completely concentrate on school activities, which causes a high possibility that they may drop out of school. According to American College Health Association National College Health Assessment, there was 25 percent of students suffering from having decreased grades in 2010. In addition, those students also had difficulties to finish their courses.

In conclusion, it seems to me that academic stress is an alarming problem for all students because of the critical influences on health and grades. Hence, the students should reduce studying pressure to ensure the most effective learning environment.