causes and effects of Internet addiction

These days, there is a significant increase in the number of students using the Internet and they have the tendency to overuse it. This undesirable problem can be related to the imbalance between studying and entertaining on the websites. This essay will explore some feasible reasons and impacts for this serious phenomenon.

To begin with, there are many reasons why students are prone to be addicted to using the Internet. The major reason for this is the multifunction of the Internet. In fact, the learners can easily access the Internet with the assistance of electrical services such as smartphones, laptops, tablets, and so on. In other words, when they connect their devices with the Internet connection, they can search for any type of website. As a result, they cannot take their eyes off the screens due to attractive video games and films or movies. Another contributing factor is that shy students can build virtual relationships with others thanks to the Internet without seeing their friends in real life.

This phenomenon has many critical effects on students. The biggest impact is destruction to health. Some diseases related to the vision and nervous system are demonstrated because of Internet addiction. If the students spend most of their time using the Internet, not only their eyes will become short-sighted but the development of their brain can be reduced. In addition, they can suffer from obesity and cardiovascular problems due to lack of outdoor activities. Another adverse effect is on the studying performance. The more time they spend using the Internet, the less time they spend studying and social life. Excessive Internet use discourages them from reading books, exploring new aspects of learning. Therefore, their studying performance at school is seriously influenced.

In conclusion, it seems to me that Internet addiction is an extremely alarming problem for the students because of the abuse and results in health problems and loss of learning productivity. Hence, the students should put their Internet use time into limitation to ensure good health and studying performance.