Some people believe that children of all ages should have extra responsibilities. Other believe that, outside of school, children should be free to enjoy life.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Some people argue that extra responsibilities such as sharing household chores or business work should be taken by children of all ages. However, the opponents believe that apart from studying, children need to have the freedom to enjoy their lives. From my perspective, children should take charge of more duties besides studying.

On the one side of the argument, giving children the opportunity to freely enjoy their lives apart from learning is an effective way to relieve stress. In many countries around the world, students are under immense pressure of studying due to the enormous amount of knowledge. Indeed, students have to take additional classes and courses besides the compulsory curriculum at schools with a view to obtaining excellent academic achievement. Taking China, which is renowned for its heavy school program, as an obvious example. Chinese students need to invest most of their time in cramming for examinations. As a result, they just have enough time for having meals, personal hygiene, and relaxation. Therefore, it is unnecessary to force children to take more responsibilities in their families.

On the other side, increased onus encourages greater maturity and self-reliance. It is the awareness of taking extra responsibilities that lays the foundation for their future private lives. For instance, university undergraduates who live far away from home have to confront difficulties in working and studying. Thanks to such practical experience, they can manage to overcome these challenges and look after themselves without the protection of their parents. In addition, if some parents are overly protective of their children and do not instill traits related to independence, their offspring cannot deal with urgent problems and are prone to struggle to adjust and integrate into collective life.

In conclusion, although there must be a limited amount of time that children can spend doing housework or other activities, it is advisable to encourage children to take charge of anything in their comfort zone. As a result, they can strike a balance between studying and other responsibilities.