For centuries, important parts of education have remained such as reading, writing, and maths. With the advent of computers, some people think that computer skill be made as a fourth skill to be added to the list.

To what extent do you agree?

Opinions diverge on whether computer skills should be added to the curriculum at school which is currently occupied by reading, writing and maths. Although some formidably censure this sentiment, I am at loggerheads owing to some rational reasons.

Admittedly, students can take advantage of computer skills to assist their study. It is perceptible that there are a handful of reference resources available on the internet that students can simply access if they are skillful at computers. There are myriad platforms, for example, videos on youtube or social media as well as online libraries offering information for distinct subjects from the sciences to the arts. Moreover, particularly in pandemic, computer skills support the remote learning process. This emerges as the only one solution salvaging students from education interruption. Hence, using computers fluently gives students a helping hand in absorbing knowledge.

Further and even more prominently, being adept at computer skills provides students numerous profits in their future career paths. In this day and age, most business activities are dominated by technologies, which aid employees finishing their tasks faster and more accurately. The result of this practice is higher productivity at work. Therefore, recruiters seem to bias towards those with computer competency in light of saving time and money spent on training. Obviously, IT accomplished candidates can achieve highly remunerative salaries as well as promotion opportunities. As a result, computer experience is of paramount importance to subsequent career development.

By way of conclusion, apart from maths, reading and writing, schools should attach computer sciences to the present curriculum as a compulsory subject.