For centuries, important parts of education have remained such as reading, writing and maths. With the advent of computers, some people think that computer skill be made as a fourth skill to be added to the list. To what extent do you agree? (IELTS Academic Test, 2017)

Due to the rocketed development of Internet and digital bits, computers have been playing such an important role in our lives today. They involve in most of our activities. Not only official workers but also housewives feel the need to use them. For that reason, I totally agree with the idea that computer literacy should be added to the school curriculum beside major subjects as reading, writing and maths.

Firstly, more and more jobs require workers qualified in computers. However, students today are only educated in computer knowledge when officially joining colleges. This may result in some drawbacks for them. Therefore, computer skill should be considered as a prime subject at schools. This not only helps youngsters build a solid start of computer understanding but also spare them more time to dive into computer science. In addition, for those who are interested in digital and technology-related jobs, this would give them a clearer orientation of future careers.

Secondly, by knowing how computers work at a young age, teenagers can make the most out of them for other learning purposes rather than for entertainment activities. As an interactive partner, computers would enable pupils to better solve problems and to become more proactive learners. In the long run, they would gain more confidence and even more creativity through self-study.

In summary, beyond some trivial disadvantages, computer literacy at school is enormously advantageous to students. They can take full advantage of these skills for interdisciplinary study in an active way and can as well obtain a proper preparation for future computer use.