Some people think the government funding should not be used for supporting art and culture, others think supporting cultural activities may be beneficial for the population and the culture. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It has been popularly thought that governments should not fund art and culture as they bring no benefits for the population and the culture but also another mass of people hold an opposite view. In my opinion, art and culture should be considered as a major segment for supporting from the governments as they could benefit both the population and the culture in many ways.

On the one hand, art and culture not only can greatly contribute to the population economically but also can bring plenty of positive impacts on human health. For example, art and cultural museums are often listed as spotlights drawing a huge number of both foreign and local visitors. In addition, art and culture could be seen as special products for export. Take Korea as an example, the popularity of Korean music not only gives Korea an economic boost but also helps it to spread its tradition and culture all over the world. Secondly, a rising number of scientific proofs claims that art can strengthen and sharpen human brain. For example, in an experiment in 1970s, some students who are allowed to listen to the classical music for 10 minutes showed higher scores from a test than those did not. Furthermore, art is evidently proved that it can release stress and bring more positive feelings for people. It has been stated that people who are more accessible to the arts usually feel happier in their lives.

On the other hand, many people think otherwise that government funds should be allocated on other major segments such as healthcare and education as they give more direct influence on people's lives than art and culture. As a matter of fact, this is true. For instance, a good educational system would enable students to be more active, more creative, smarter, more confident and therefore, it would as well improve the work force and the employment market.

In conclusion, although government funds on critical segments such as healthcare and education are absolutely necessary but art and culture, in my view, also have a great number of direct benefits for both population and culture.