Some people think that modern technology is making people more sociable, while others think it is making them less sociable. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The boom of technology has drastically changed the way human communicate with each other. Some people think that it has turned them into more sociable people but others hold an opposite view. In my opinion, the technology does not make people more sociable, but rather give them chances for more connections.

On the one hand, modern technologies, particularly social networks such as Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, etc. have acted as a platform to bring individuals to a greater connection. They would have many more chances to make friends and to widen their relations. For instance, people can find friends or even life-partners who might share the same interests and hobbies via plenty of online groups. Additionally, these sites can as well help families and friends who live far away from each other to update, share and have a better understanding about their loved ones.

On the other hand, due to the great convenience of these modern tools, a rising number of people have become heavily addicted to them. They pay much more attention to online activities than to real-life actions. It is very popular these days that groups of friends and families sit in a cafe together and use their own smart-phones but none of them has a face-to-face talk. Consequently, actual relationships become disjointed and gradually die out as individuals take more interest in online communities who they have never met face-to-face before or who they are unlikely to ever meet in the future.

In conclusion, even though modern technologies are very much helpful to people in many ways, it is clear to me that they do not help people to be more sociable but only give them broader connection for more new relations.