Children can learn effectively from watching TV. Therefore, they should be encouraged to watch TV regularly both at home and at school. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Watching TV is an effective method for children to acquire knowledge. While I disagree with the idea that children should often watch TV, no matter they are at home or at school.

Admittedly, I agree that children can learn a lot from TV programs. Different types of programs usually enlighten children with different methods. For example, a documentary about rare animals, not only can they acquire knowledge about the habitat、food、behaviour and enemy of animals, but also they can develop the sense of protecting animals. It is conducive to pushing out the horizon of their knowledge. Besides, some quiz programs give children the feeling of participation which can ignite their enthusiasm for learning.

Nevertheless, I disagree that children should often watch TV. First of all, watching TV regularly is detrimental to their health. One of the direct consequences of watching TV is poor eyesight which can influence the rest of children’s life since they have to wear glasses. Additionally, various courses and homework occupy children’s time. Watching TV regularly prevents them from completing their learning tasks. Moreover, watching TV cannot improve their grades. It is undeniable that get high grades in exam is essential to further study. Although children can learn a lot from watching TV, the knowledge they acquire is not a part of their exam. It means they cannot apply this knowledge to exam to get high grades.

In conculsion, with the help of watching TV, children can acquire knowledge which is difficult to learn from schools and families but has a little influence on their exams. So they do not need to spend much time on watching TV.