Children can learn effectively from watching TV. Therefore, they should be encouraged to watch TV regularly both at home and at school. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Given that watching TV is an effective channel for children to acquire knowledge, children as the audiences and learners should be encouraged to watch TV no matter they are at home or at school. However, I disagree with such statement.

There are several reasons why I oppose encouraging children to watch TV regularly. In terms of school, first, it cannot help them make progress and get great grades in study. Although children could expand the scope of knowledge through watching different contents of programs, the knowledge they acquire on TV is irrelevant to their curriculum and exams. In addition, children lack time to watch TV at school. They stay at school about six hours a day and their school life are occupied by various courses. Even though they are allowed to do this, they will argue about which programs to watch, increasing the difficulty of teacher’s management.

As for encouraging them to watch TV at home, this is absurd, since it begets unexpected downsides on their growth. Directly, unlike in school, children without enough supervision and adequate self-discipline will spend more time than what has been originally set. Gradually, addition to screen might be developed, alluring them to be immersed in TV program, with tons of precious time wasted which should be distributed to do other more meaningful things, such as study、physical exercise.

In conclusion, it is a strange encouragement, and from what I have discussed, I see no reason behind to encourage them to watch.