Children can learn effectively from watching TV. Therefore, they should be encouraged to watch TV regularly both at home and at school. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Given that watching TV is an effective channel for children to acquire knowledge, children as the audiences and learners should be encouraged to watch TV no matter they are at home or at school. While I disagree with such statement.

On one hand, I suppose that the knowledge children can acquire in classes is limited, but they could expand the scope of knowledge through watching different contents of programs. For example, a documentary about rare animals, not only can help children have a great understanding of the animals, but also can instill the sense of protecting them. Apart from it, watching TV at home is a great choice for children to ease the study pressure.

However, the knowledge children acquire on TV cannot help them make progress and get great grades in study because it is irrelevant to their curriculum and exams. It means if children want to have further education, they must concentrate on the knowledge imparted by teachers. In addition, children lack sufficient time to watch TV at school. They stay at school about six hours per day and their school life are occupied by various courses.

In terms of watching TV at home, it definitely has function to release children’s stress in a given time. But children lack self-discipline as well as parents are busy with work, leading children expand the time of watching TV. What’s worse, they could become immersed in watching TV. Moreover, the time they spend on TV can be utilized to do other meaningful things, such as study、physical exercise. Compared to watching TV, these things are more conducive to children’s development.

In conclusion, it is a strange encouragement, and from what I have discussed, I see no reason behind to encourage them to watch.