Children can learn effectively from watching TV. Therefore, they should be encouraged to watch TV regularly both at home and at school. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Given that watching TV is an effective channel for children to acquire knowledge, children as the audiences and learners should be encouraged to watch TV no matter they are at home or at school. While I disapprove of such statement.

On one hand, I suppose that the knowledge children can acquire in classes is limited, but with different contents of programs which could expand the scope of their knowledge. For example, a documentary about rare animals, not only can children have a great understanding of the animals, but also can instill the sense of protecting them. Besides, compared to boring teaching method, some quiz programs give children the feeling of participation which can ignite their enthusiasm for learning. Apart from these, watching TV at home can ease their pressure of study.

On the other hand, I hold that allowing children to watch TV regularly both at home and at school exerts negative effects on them. First of all, it is detrimental to physical health. Sitting on sofa and facing TV screen for long time bring about obesity and poor eyesight for children. Additionally, watching TV in school affects studies. Children could be absent-minded in classes, distracted by the pictures on TV. Moreover, if children were encouraged to watch TV regularly, they would become immersed in various TV programs, such as soap opera、talk show. They are reluctant to interact with their families、teachers, resulting in lacking interpersonal skills.

In conclusion, with the help of watching TV, children can acquire comprehensive knowledge but watching TV regularly also imposes negative influence on them. So we should not encourage children to spend much time on watching TV.