Some people believe that certain old buildings should be preserved more than others. What types of old buildings should be preserved? Do you think the advantages of preserving old buildings outweigh the disadvantages?

Given that mankind will face population explosion and land crisis, whether old buildings should be preserved better or not is an inevitable issue. As for some people, they believe that people should pay more attention to protecting certain old buildings. In my views, old buildings are worth conserving unless they have historical values. The consequence of it unleashes tremendous benefits to the country and their citizens.

Firstly, in terms of culture, they demonstrate cultural deposits of the country. Take the Imperial Palace for example, its abound of antiques which are handed down from the ancestors, including sophisticated handicraftsăprecious calligraphy and painting works. The whole palace symbolizes great part of Chinese culture, and this gives people a feeling of belongings.

From another aspect, historical buildings fulfill the purpose of education. These buildings were constructed centuries ago . It could connect people to the past so that people can gain a better understanding of the history. Additionally, as a kind of building, they have distinctive styles which could give inspiration to architects.

Last but not least, they have economic merits. Generally, based on the cultural and educational edges, they become tourist attractions and appeal to people from all over the world. Undoubtedly, they promote tourist industry of the country. Moreover, they give impetus to other industries. For instance, various restaurants cluster around them. The reason why these restaurants exist and prosper is that historical buildings attract a number of people all year round. It can be said that they play vital roles in promoting economic development.

In conclusion, historical buildings are of great benefits to the country and people.