Task 2 : Some people believe that certain old buildings should be preserved more than others. What types of old buildings should be preserved? Do you think the advantages of preserving old buildings outweigh the disadvantages?

Historical values has been faded away to make ways for cutting-edge building complex in these recent years. There is a proportion of people argue that not all kinds of ancient buildings are needed to be taken care of, the statement is true to some extent. However, I believe the advantages overshadow its demerits due to culture-oriented factors.

On the one hand, some buildings with long-standing history have a high possibility in causing severe damages for the citizens living in its vicinity. Since the infrastructure has been rustic for many years, which can be inevitably collapsed, it is crucial to conserve these building, especially the buildings that are imbued with prominent historical stories. Furthermore, the constructions and calculations made by people lived in the past are not well-assured due to the lack of knowledge with the use of primitive materials. This can be exemplified by the reconstruction of the Notre Dame Cathedral of Saigon, it is reported to pose a potential threats to the dwellers due to the acutely worn-out foundation.

In contrast, the preservation of certain old building can result in an enormous budget allocation. The government normally holds accountable for protecting the country’s heritage, however, this usually costs time and money to comprehensively conduct. Additionally, some buildings are even reincarnated which takes aways its pristine beauty and core values. In terms of other buildings that are not meticulously taken care of, the authority can receive tantrum from the local residents as the people perceived this act as a discrimination among areas in the country.

In conclusion, it is beneficial to fully focus on conservating more for certain building, especially historical buildings since it can mitigate the risk of damage for the local dwellers, however, this can be considered as a misunderstanding and lead to the dissension between people and the government.