Some people believe that certain old buildings should be preserved more than others. What types of old buildings should be preserved? Do you think the advantages of preserving old buildings outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, opinions differ as to whether it is much better for certain dilapidated buildings to be preserved more than others. From my perspective, there are some kinds of run-down buildings needing to be maintained and this tendency may bring more benefits, compared to the drawbacks.

On the one hand, it is thought that the authorities need to subsidise money for the preservation of some types of old building. The first one that needs to be taken into account is historical buildings since they are the symbols of the past. For instance, in Ho Chi Minh city, the local government has spared money for the maintenance of Duc Ba church, which was built during the time Vietnam was governed by French. As a result, this church can exist with the time and next generations could have a look into the history and development of this city. Furthermore, governments ought to pay attention to the refurbishment of authority buildings since they play such a fundamental role in leading a specific region. To illustrate, the buildings of Vietnamese communist party or national assembly are usually redecorated and renovated by the government. Without the preservation of these buildings, there would be no place for authority officials to lead and work.

On the other hand, it is believed that this trend may be unfavorable in some facets. Some experts opine that instead of spending too much money maintaining old infrastructures, officials in charge should allocate this money to tackle national problems and make investment to crucial fields like education or health care. It can lead to the enhancement in the living standard of a country. However, the pros this tendency could bring about might offset the cons. The most important advantage needing to be mentioned is that if run-down buildings, especially those erected in the past, are well-preserved, these infrastructures can become the tourist attractions and the images of a nation. For example, owning to the desire to visit historical places such as Ho Chi Minh mausoleum or Hoan Kiem lake ,international tourists consider Vietnam to be one of the best destinations. Thus, Vietnamese tourism can thrive strongly.

In conclusion, it is imperative for some essential buildings which are in poor condition to be refurbished. Apparently, with persuasive justifications, I have to admit that this trend may be more auspicious rather than be detrimental.