Children can learn effectively from watching TV. Therefore, they should be encouraged to watch TV regularly both at home and at school. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Given that watching TV is an effective channel for children to acquire knowledge, children as the audiences and learners should be encouraged to watch TV no matter they are at home or at school. While I disapprove of such statement.

Admittedly, I agree that children can learn a lot from TV programs. With different contents which could expand the scope of knowledge. For example, a documentary about rare animals, not only can children acquire knowledge about the habitat、food、behaviour and enemy of animals, but also can instill the sense of protecting them. It is conducive to push out the horizon of their knowledge. Besides, some quiz programs give children the feeling of participation which can ignite their enthusiasm for learning.

Nevertheless, I disagree that children should often watch TV. First of all, watching TV regularly is detrimental to their health. One of the direct consequences of watching TV is poor eyesight which can influence the rest of children’s life since this is difficult to cure. Moreover, if children were encouraged to watch TV regularly, they would become immersed in various TV programs, such as soap opera、talk show. They are reluctant to interact with others, resulting in lacking interpersonal skills in particular when children are at school.

In conclusion, with the help of watching TV, children can acquire comprehensive knowledge but watching TV regularly also imposes negative influence on their health and interpersonal interaction. So we should not encourage children to spend much time on watching TV.