Some people believe that spending money on developing technology for space exploration is unjustifiable, there are more beneficial ways to spend money. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Large amounts of money have been spent on technology for space exploration programmes since several decades. Although i agree with that it makes sense to spend money on space exploration, the funds should also be allocated to other aspects like public services.

I suppose that space exploration is very likely to help human being to cope with shortage of resources and space. While there are several reasons why is unsound to pay more funds for space programmes. It is true that space programmes, including training astronauts and manufacturing spaceships come at huge costs to government, which is unaffordable to most countries. These are a waste of money in particular when the projects fail. In addition, the missions of space exploration in current world have gradually became an instrument to show governments’ power, leading those projects to vanity projects.

I believe that the massive amount of money should go to vital public services instead. Compared to space programmes, spending money on technology for public services is easier to make progress and gain achievements which have impact on everyone. For example, Intelligent Transportation System which can strengthen the connection between people、cars and roads is of great beneficial to ordinary people due to improving traffic congestions and saving time. Besides, sacrificing massive money and time to research technology for public services such as education、medical treatment and detection lifts people out of poverty, diseases and hazards. It gives people better quality of life.

In conclusion, my view is that the funds should be spent on services which can benefit most people in their daily life rather than space exploration, a project which is a waste of money.