Children today are too dependent on computers and electronic entertainment. It would be better for them to be outside playing sports and taking part in more traditional pastimes than spending all day indoors. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In recent decades, the undeniable truth has presented that with the rise in technology, children’s dependence on electronic entertainment sources have also surged. However, this trend has frightened many people as it is acknowledged detrimental on both mental and physical growth. This essay is in agreement that children should devote free time to outdoor activities and conventional games instead of entertaining themselves with computer indoor.

To begin with, spending free time on outdoor activities bring several benefits to children’s health. Substantial scientific evidences demonstrated that outdoor activities instills agility and endurance, and teach children to socialize and make friends. Children also develop several qualities like co-operation, team spirit, patience and confidence. To illustrate, in outdoor games children come across different situations like victory, failure, hope and despair. Accordingly, they learn to face situation with emotional balance. Furthermore, exposure to fresh air and sun light make children physically stronger. As these activities are physically demanding leads to burning of extra calories and boost metabolism and strengthen immune system. Hence, outdoor activities are associated with good mental and physical development of a child.

On the other hand, it is undeniable fact that computer games are very intelligent and have huge educational potential. In other words, it encourages children to develop researching skills and inspire them to learn. For example, according to a research, computer games help children to learn more about science and keep them updated with latest trends and technology. Apart from that, being at street is not considered safe nowadays, allowing children to spend time outdoors without proper supervision a child can receive trauma or become a crime subject.

In conclusion, outdoor games are vital proper growth and development of children. However, proper supervision is needed for safety of children.