Children today are too dependent on computers and electronic entertainment. It would be better for them to be outside playing sports and taking part in more traditional pastimes than spending all day indoors.

Do you agree or disagree? Write an essay of about 250 words to express your opinion.

In this day and age, with the rapid advancement in the sphere of technology, entertainment using only electronic devices has been undergoing an apparent rise in popularity. It is not unusual to see children playing games on their computers or watching videos on their phones for hours on end. Personally, I fully agree with the view that they should take part in outdoor activities instead, which works wonders for their health and their soft skills.

To start with, sports activities help to enhance their physical health. In fact, recreational activities such as playing video games, watching television, and scrolling through social media do not encompass considerable movement, which certainly leads to several ailments, a few of which are obesity, weak muscles, low blood flow, etc. It is highly likely that they will also be taken ill with blurry vision, and short-sightedness as they stare at the screen restlessly. Therefore, it is advisable for them to take up sports or traditional pastimes where they engage in numerous movements.

Additionally, pastimes that include inherent interaction with others offer children opportunities to sharpen their soft skills. Unlike on video games or social media platforms where one mostly communicates by typing texts, outdoor sports, and games require one to put his or her thoughts across through verbal methods or body language. It is thanks to performing such acts frequently that children can become successful communicators in their future affairs. Moreover, working with others to achieve ultimate results, they also accumulate collaboration skills. Take team sports as an example. The members of one team cooperate to beat another, which necessitates collaboration skills.

In summary, I believe there is need for children to turn away from electronic entertainment which is detrimental to them and start joining in outdoor activities in their free time as they have positive impacts on their health as well as their social skills.