Computers are being used more and more in education. Some people say that this is a positive trend, while others argue that it is leading to negative consequences. Discuss both sides of this argument and then give your own opinion.

Today, it is apparent that using technology in the sphere of education is pervasive. Heated controversy has been sparked over whether this trend is detrimental or advantageous. This essay examines the reasons for each point of view and supports the latter opinion.

On the one hand, it is argued that computers serve as a valuable tool for students to become global citizens. Currently, many students are utilizing such technology devices to enhance their studies and teachers are also incorporating them into their lessons to boost the effectiveness of knowledge impartation. Being apprised of state-of-the-art technology, they are enabled to keep pace with the constantly changing world and will not be given the label of “old-fashioned individuals”.

On the other hand, opponents of the trend believe that computers may decline students’ cognitive skills. As a matter of fact, the Internet is teeming with an abundance of information that encompasses answers to most students’ assignments. Inevitably, many find it hard to resist the temptation to simply search them up instead of patiently working them out. The requirement for them to think is, therefore, overshadowed, which soon undermines their brain function as well as their performance at school.

In my judgment, the emergence of technology in teaching and learning by no means has adverse influences. As long as students learn to control themselves and not misuse it, they will undoubtedly feel its benefits regarding their studies.

In the final analysis, although people are not unanimous about whether this development works wonders for us or not, I hold the view that it should be encouraged on condition that students possess enough self-discipline.