Climate change is a phenomenon that affects countries all over the world. Many people strongly believe that it is the responsibility of individuals, rather than corporations and governments, to deal with this problem.

To what extent do you agree?

With the advent of technology, the modern world has been engulfed by one of the major problems-climate change. Although there are many factors that are accountable for bringing the entire globe at the brim of suffocation, many scientists agree that the main reason for making the earth warmer is due to human activities. Some people believe that an individual should be responsible for this change, while many others claim that this has turned to be a global matter, so must be handled by international bodies. I am at discord with the given statement and think that a collaborative approach is needed to combat the rampant situation.

It is an undeniable fact that mother earth is encountering a serious threat of getting extinct due to the rise in global warming. Many factors including excess reliability on fossil fuels by industrialized countries, emissions of a greenhouse gas like methane in farming, and increasing trend of deforestation to expand farming, mines, and infrastructure are all responsible for the accumulation of harmful gases which inturn raises earth's temperature. For instance, a recent study has revealed that ice glaciers in Antarctica and Greenland have been melting six times faster than they were in the 1990's and hence the global sea level has risen by nearly 0.7 inches. Therefore, in such a dire situation, a global initiative becomes the need of the hour so that the problem can be gobbled up at a larger platform.

On the other hand, role of each individual to be a part of this agenda can not be overlooked. A single contribution at the home level can make a huge difference. For example, switching to eco-friendly methods, the use of energy-saving appliances, and avoiding cars for short distances can play a vital role towards the goal. So, in the context of saving wildlife from getting extinct to securing mother earth for upcoming generations, cooperative action is demanded from every human being.

To conclude, our precious planet has been suffering a lot from last 50 to 100 years due to climate change. It has become a moot point among masses about who should be held responsible- an individual or government at the world level for this immense change. In my opinion, it is everyone's duty to join hands at human grounds to curb the emerging problem.