Communication is less between family members of late. Do you agree or disagree?

To what extent do you agree?

Over the past decades, the weakened communication among members in a typical family has translated to an impediment on societal development. It is widely believed that such seismic shift in family communication is a corollary of the advancement of technology and economy. The aim of this essay is set to explore how the reasons derived from these two spheres hinder the communication.

To begin with, it is intuitively obvious that the economic growth is perceived as a hindrance of communication, in particular to late family members. In fact, with the augmented workload accompanied with national prosperity, parents often have to dedicate more time to their rituals, resulting a shortfall of communication with family members. For instance, recent empirical research from the Family Planning Committee ascertained that the average hours working parents spent on communicating with children have been halved over the previous decade. Seen in this light, the lengthened working hours undermine the family bonding by lessening the opportunity of communication.

Meanwhile, another pivotal factor to remember is that the technological derivatives tend to impede communications in families. What this means is the cell phone has a high tendency to stray our late family members from a valuable dinner that drives regular communication. Evidently, having interviewed by the Social Harmony Association, 70% children admitted that they remain engrossed in the screen on having a family dinner. Consequently, these late members are unlikely to sustainably communicate with their parents, and thus eventually estrange themselves from family life.

In conclusion, there is undeniable evidence that the economic expansion and burgeoning of the latest technology are impeding the conventional channels that late family member employs to communicate with the senior counterparts. Given such changes are irrevocable, it is predicted that this phenomenon will become a norm in modern families in foreseeable future.