Nowadays food has become easier to prepare. Has this change improved the way people live?

Give reasons for your answer using your own ideas and experience.

Experts throughout the developing and developed world have debated whether the latest development of the food industry is improving our well-being or not. Alongside the arguments from both views, the latest sociological discoveries have casted light on the implication in accordance with the time-saving benefits and the change in average nutritional content obtained by general residents living in cities. This essay will discuss both sides using the examples from these academic work.

To begin with, the ensuing time reduction is intuitively perceived as a positive driver for enriching one's life. The central reason behind this is twofold, firstly, the packed food we brought from supermarket save us time on searching recipes. Secondly, with the processed ingredients, citizens can start cooking immediately. In fact, an empirical research from the Hong Kong University ascertained that the use of canned or packed food could save up to 70% of the food preparation time. Consistent with this line of thinking is that, without this change, the working parents might require to spend an hour prior to enjoying a meal with their families. Therefore, it is conclusively clear that the use of these processed food increase the likeliness of work-life balance.

Although there is a case of saving time in a busy life, the impact of intaking these instant delicacies should not be overstated, in particular the shortfall of nutritional content that is widely found in fast food. This is largely because the fast food shop tends to cater meals that are high in fat and sugar, which in turn induce chronic diseases entailing obesity and heart attack. For instance, having conducted an extensive study, the Hong Kong University established that frequenting fast foot shop is responsible for the surging figure of incidence of obesity in middle age group. Admittedly, the preparation of homemade food, to a considerable extent, is costly and time-consuming; however, the treatment for chronic disease should not be neglected. Consequently, it is possible to state beyond doubt that people should choose the food wisely.

In conclusion, there is ample evidence suggesting the shift in food preparation can meet with the need of societal development with a cost of potential health problem. Having said that, it is predicted that the fast food and processed food will grow in importance in the foreseeable future.