Many teachers assign homework to students every day. Do you think that daily homework is necessary for students?

Use specific reasons and details to support your answer.

Experts throughout the developing and developed world have debated whether daily homework is essential to students. In spite of its intrinsic effectiveness on the academic accomplishment, the strain begot by homework is now becoming increasingly concerned by the public. This essay will discuss both views and use the examples from Hong Kong to demonstrate points.

To begin with, the assignment given by teacher is intuitively perceived as the key of managing academic achievement. The central reason behind this is twofold, firstly the questions inside homework foster the memory of knowledge. Secondly, the embedded challenge is an opportunity to let students practically applied the skill learnt in their daily lessons. In fact, recent empirical research from the Hong Kong University established that the results in final examination often grow with the volume of homework. Moreover, this has been increasingly recognised in education of senior levels, despite the arguments regarding academic strain. Therefore, it is conclusively clear that the existence of homework, to a considerable extent, intensify the effort spent on academic accomplishment.

Although there is a case for homework ensuing the benefits in final examinations, the accompanying pressure cannot be ignored. This is largely because homework often cost junior learners a significant amount of time, which in turn reduce the length of time for entertainment. For instance, there was evidently a surge in suicide cases among primary school students in Hong Kong and is believed to directly connected with the ensuing academic strain from daily homework. Consistent with this line of thinking is that enjoyable activities integrating with practical exercises would be a better replacement for homework comprising of questions and answers. Thus, it is possible to state beyond doubt that homework is likely to hinder the mental development of students.

In conclusion, homework has a vitally important role to play in excelling academic performance, yet the accompany pressure significantly stands in the way of the growth of teenagers and outweigh the benefits. Given the severity of growing incidence of student suicide, it is predicted that the average volume of homework will decrease in the foreseeable future.