Do you think that an ageing society will disappear? What are the advantages and disadvantages of having more old people in society?

Over the past decades, it is widely believed that the medical advancement has fostered the longevity around the globe. Despite the enhanced well-being of average citizens, this seismic shift has begot a financial burden to our society. The aim of this essay is set to explore the societal benefit pertainning to additional manpower and a detrimental effect on economy.

To begin with, there is ample evidence suggested that the elderly nowadays are generally perceived as workforce in some less strained domain. In fact, unlike a couple of century ago, senior people who absorbed sufficient nourishment’s and had shaped a healthy habit with regular workouts are deemed energetic enough to produce values to the communities in their late life. Recent empirical research from the Elderly Committee ascertained that 70% people belonging the retired age-group are still participating in voluntary works for neighbourhood entailing part-time music teaching and homework tutoring. Seen in this light, these extra workforce is likely to ameliorate the increasing demands of the corresponding sectors.

Although the benefits given to neighbourhood are remarkable, the impact of the expanding senior age-group on overall nation should not be overstated. What this means is the fact that, with inadequate personal saving and rising fee for housing and food, the major livelihood of elderly has a high tendency to be underpinned by social security and pensions they earned from the past employers. Having conducted an extensive study, the Hong Kong University established that the number of retired people who count on pension or social security has quadrupled over the pass 20 years. Considering with this line of thinking, this national expenditure has cumulated with aging population. Meanwhile, coupled with the installation of ensuing facilities designated for the elderly and the allowance that subsidising the concession fee for transportation, the economic development would be hindered under the growing contention accompanied by globalization.

In conclusion, while these passionate and committed senior workforce constitute assistants in the neighbourhood, they are also tentamount to impediments to national development. Yet, it is predicted that the aging process will remain insurmountable in foreseeable future due to the progress science and technology are making.