Face-to-face communication is better than other types of communications, such as letters, emails, or telephone calls.

Use specific reasons and details to support your answer.

Experts throughout the developing and developed world have debated whether direct communication or its counterparts such as emails and telephones is a better means of conveying ideas among people. Alongside the arguments from both sides, the discoveries from Hong Kong have provided some insights into this controversy. This essay will discuss both views using the examples in general business sectors to demonstrate points.

To begin with, direct communication is intuitively perceived as a stimulus of business development. The central reason behind this stems from the fact that one can obtain extra supports from the medium other than the speech itself, such as facial expression and gestures. In fact, the majority of project managers in Hong Kong hold a stand-up meeting in morning in order to have a face-to-face briefing on status of ongoing progress. Moreover, the ensuing efficiency of having a direct communication has been increasingly recognised around the globe, despite the arguments regarding physical limitation such as distance. Therefore, it is conclusively clear that direct communication is likely to preclude both sides from being misled.

Although there is a case for fostering the productivity, the downside of face-to-face communication cannot be neglect. This is largely because this type of communication often accompany with a restriction that necessitates all participants staying in a proximity for a while, which then induce extra cost of transportation and significant round-trip time. For instance, there has been evidently a plunge in the use of direct communication among business partners since 2000. Consistent with this line of thinking is that electronic means of communication would be the dominant option for modern business, in particular within multinational corporations. Thus it is possible to state beyond doubt that the dependence of face-to-face communication is destined to hinder business growth.

In conclusion, face-to-face communication has a pivotal role to play inside a company, yet over-dependency could have a detrimental effect on business expansion. Given the trend of globalisation, it is predicted that the employment of communication technology will grow in importance in the foreseeable future.